Award Details

Award Information
Morrison Travel Award for Graduate Students in Plant Science
Dr. Ian N. Morrison joined the Department of Plant Science at the University of Manitoba in 1976 as a weed scientist and later served as Head from 1989 to 1996. His research led to the development of new tools and methods for weed control and crop protection for western Canadian producers. In the mid-1980’s, he worked as an oilseed agronomist in Pakistan. Dr. Morrison moved to the University of Alberta in 1996 to become Dean of
the Faculty of Agriculture, Forestry and Home Economics. He touched the lives of over 20 graduate students and hundreds of undergraduate students. Dr. Morrison passed away in a tragic accident in 2006 at the age of 58.

The endowment fund was established as a tribute to Dr. Morrison’s personal qualities and career accomplishments. The Manitoba Scholarship and Bursary Initiative has made a contribution to the fund. The available annual interest from the fund will be used to offer one or more awards, with a maximum value to be set by the Head of the Department of Plant Science, on the recommendation of the Plant Science Graduate Studies Committee. The Award will be offered to graduate students who:

(1) have completed the first year of their M.Sc. or Ph.D. program in the Faculty of Graduate Studies at The University of Manitoba;

(2) have achieved a minimum degree grade point average of 3.0 (or equivalent) based on the last 60 credit hours;

(3) will be attending a scientific meeting in a plant science related area and will be presenting the results of their research at the meeting (poster or oral presentation);

(4) have demonstrated research ability based on the abstract submitted and the proposed research results to be presented at the meeting.

Applications will be available annually from the Department of Plant Science and must be submitted to the Associate Head of the Department of Plant Science by the advertised deadline. Funding must be used within the 12 month period following the date that the award recipients are announced. Recipients graduating within the 12 month period following the date of the award offer must use the funding no later than six months from the date of convocation.

Recipients may not hold more than one of the Morrison Travel Award, the Lamari Travel Award, or the Helgason Travel Award in the same calendar year.

Selection of the recipients will be based on: 1) academic performance; 2) comments from letters of recommendation; 3) the quality of the abstract submitted and of the proposed research results to be presented; 4) the potential value of the meeting to the student’s development.

The award recipient will submit receipts for travel, registration, hotel and food expenses (based on current University of Manitoba per diem rates). Expenses will be reimbursed up to the current maximum value of the award.

The Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies will ask the Chair of the Awards Committee of the Department of Plant Science to convene the selection committee for this award.

The Board of Governors of the University of Manitoba has the right to modify the terms of this award if, because of changed conditions, it becomes necessary to do so. Such modification shall conform as closely as possible to the expressed intention of the donor in establishing the award.
Award Type:
Travel Scholarship
Application Required:
Close Date:
Supporting Files:


Back to award list