Award Details

Award Information
Eugene H. Lange Memorial Entrance Bursary
The family of Dr. Eugene H. Lange has established an endowment fund to support an annual bursary at the University of Manitoba in his memory. Dr. Lange was the first Director of the Diploma Course, School of Agriculture, University of Manitoba (1952-1978). Under his guidance the program focused on farm business management, marketing, leadership skills and citizenship training in order to prepare students for their future roles as leaders of Manitoba agriculture. Professor Lange made longstanding efforts to instill in every student a sense of responsibility and obligation to community, province and country.

The Manitoba Scholarship and Bursary Initiative has made a contribution to the fund.

This bursary is offered annually on the recommendation of the Awards Committee of the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Science to a student who:

(1) has achieved satisfactory academic standing in high school (80 percent average on courses used for admission to the School of Agriculture at the University of Manitoba);

(2) is enrolled in at least 60 percent of a full course load, as defined by the School of Agriculture, in the first year of the Diploma Course;

(3) has demonstrated leadership ability in high school and through community involvement;

(4) has demonstrated financial need on the standard University of Manitoba bursary application form.

The selection committee will be the Awards Committee of the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences.


To apply for this award, you must:

(1) Complete the U of M General Bursary Application (see the Financial Aid and Awards webpage for further info) and apply by October 1, 2017

(2) Submit the application form found below, along with all other required documents. See "Supporting Files" below to download the application form.

Deadline to apply for this award: October 1, 2017

For more information and to learn about the General bursary criteria, please go to:
Award Type:
Application Required:
Close Date:

Back to award list